
So I have this habit of procrastinating. It's really annoying like anything that I have to do that's important I put it off. I know that I should do it in advance and that I'd feel better for completing it early, but I can't. Instead I wait until the last minute to do what I'm supposed to. For example right now I should be studying for a final I have tomorrow. It's very important and I put off reading all 6 chapters until right now. So, why you may ask am I writing in this blog at this very instant instead of studying...I wish I knew. I guess I just get so sick of studying and so I prolong the torture until the very last minute. I read about this in one of my psych books, by the way I'm a psych major. It's called self-handicapping, you purposely place obstacles in your way so if you don't perform well on your exam, essay, assignment, whatever you blame it on the obstacle in the way (the internet distracted me) rather than your ability (I'm not smart enough) so it kind of makes you feel better I guess. This is an unconscious thing we all do and I'm sure a hell of a lot of us procrastinate, but I wish I could just concentrate and do what I'm supposed to. Oh well....guess it's not really my fault if I do bad tomorrow it's the stupid internet with all it's websites lol.
No comments:
Post a Comment